NEW JERSEY DISORDERLY CONDUCT LAWYER
When parties get out of control, a common criminal charge issued to those that become unruly is disorderly conduct. Disorderly conduct is a petty disorderly persons offense in New Jersey, which is akin to a misdemeanor. It is not considered a crime. Nevertheless, a conviction for disorderly conduct will result in a criminal record which can, among other things, affect one’s career prospects down the line. Those convicted of disorderly conduct will also be subject to heavy fines and jail. Therefore, it is important for any charged with disorderly conduct to obtain a free consultation with a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney. The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with Disorderly Conduct or other criminal offenses in New Jersey. For a free consultation, call (908) 358-2938.
WHAT IS DISORDERY CONDUCT?
N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2 defines disorderly conduct as:
a. Improper behavior. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense, if with purpose to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof he
(1) Engages in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior; or
(2) Creates a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor.
b. Offensive language. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense if, in a public place, and with purpose to offend the sensibilities of a hearer or in reckless disregard of the probability of so doing, he addresses unreasonably loud and offensively coarse or abusive language, given the circumstances of the person present and the setting of the utterance, to any person present.
“Public” means affecting or likely to affect persons in a place to which the public or a substantial group has access; among the places included are highways, transport facilities, schools, prisons, apartment houses, places of business or amusement, or any neighborhood.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR DISORDERLY CONDUCT IN NEW JERSEY?
In New Jersey, Disorderly Conduct is a petty disorderly persons offense. Petty disorderly persons offenses are punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine up to $500.
Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938
The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with Disorderly Conduct in New Jersey. If you or a loved one have been charged with Disorderly Conduct and would like to discuss the charge with a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938. The initial consultation is always free.