Posted on

New Jersey Open Container in Motor Vehicle Lawyer | Free Consultations Available

new jersey open container lawyer

NEW JERSEY OPEN CONTAINER IN MOTOR VEHICLE LAWYER

Open container laws are serious in New Jersey.  Anyone convicted of an open container in a motor vehicle faces severe penalties that may include fines and community service.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with and open container in a motor vehicle charge in New Jersey to consult with an experienced New Jersey Open Container in a Motor Vehicle Lawyer.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

NEW JERSEY OPEN CONTAINER IN A MOTOR VEHICLE LAW

In New Jersey, an open container in a motor vehicle charge is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-51, which provides:

Section: 39:4-51a: No consumption of alcoholic beverages in motor vehicles; presumption; penalties.

1. a. A person shall not consume an alcoholic beverage while operating a motor vehicle. A passenger in a motor vehicle shall not consume an alcoholic beverage while the motor vehicle is being operated. This subsection shall not apply to a passenger of a charter or special bus operated as defined under R.S.48:4-1 or a limousine service.

b. A person shall be presumed to have consumed an alcoholic beverage in violation of this section if an unsealed container of an alcoholic beverage is located in the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, the contents of the alcoholic beverage have been partially consumed and the physical appearance or conduct of the operator of the motor vehicle or a passenger may be associated with the consumption of an alcoholic beverage. For the purposes of this section, the term “unsealed” shall mean a container with its original seal broken or a container such as a glass or cup.

c. For the first offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $200.00 and shall be informed by the court of the penalties for a second or subsequent violation of this section. For a second or subsequent offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $250.00 or shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 10 days in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances.

Section: 39:4-51b: Prohibition of possession of open, unsealed alcoholic beverage container, circumstances

a. All occupants of a motor vehicle located on a public highway, or the right-of-way of a public highway, shall be prohibited from possessing any open or unsealed alcoholic beverage container. This subsection shall not apply to a passenger of a charter or special bus operated as defined under R.S.48:4-1 or a limousine service.

b. A person shall not be deemed to be in possession of an opened or unsealed alcoholic beverage container pursuant to this section if such container is located in the trunk of a motor vehicle, behind the last upright seat in a trunkless vehicle, or in the living quarters of a motor home or house trailer. For the purposes of this section, the term “open or unsealed” shall mean a container with its original seal broken or a container such as a glass or cup

c. For a first offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $200 and shall be informed by the court of the penalties for a second or subsequent violation of this section. For a second or subsequent offense, a person convicted of violating this section shall be fined $250 or shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 10 days in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances.

New Jersey Open Container in Motor Vehicle Lawyer – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with an open container in a motor vehicle charge in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been charged with a criminal or serious traffic offense.  If you or a loved one has been charged with an open container in a motor vehicle charge and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation is free.

Posted on

New Jersey Improper Passing of Frozen Dessert Truck Lawyer (5/5 Client Ratings)

New Jersey Improper Passing of Frozen Dessert Truck Lawyer

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER PASSING OF FROZEN DESSERT TRUCK LAWYER

In New Jersey, drivers must use caution when passing an ice cream truck.  The improper passing of a frozen dessert truck may result in a traffic ticket.   Those convicted of the improper passing of a frozen dessert truck are subject to 4 motor vehicle points in addition to fines and court costs.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with improper passing of a frozen dessert truck in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Traffic Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles improper passing offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER PASSING OF FROZEN DESSERT TRUCK LAW

In New Jersey, the passing of a frozen dessert truck is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4–128.4, which provides:

Approaching or overtaking stopped frozen dessert truck; stopping

a. The driver of a vehicle approaching or overtaking from either direction a frozen dessert truck stopped on the highway shall stop before reaching the truck when the flashing red lights and stop signal arm described in section 3 are in use. After stopping, a driver may proceed past such truck at a reasonable and prudent speed, not exceeding 15 miles per hour, and shall yield the right of way to any pedestrian who crosses the roadway to or from the frozen dessert truck.

b. The driver of a vehicle on a highway having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations need not stop upon meeting or passing a frozen dessert truck on another roadway.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with improper passing of a frozen dessert truck in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for passing a frozen dessert truck improperly.  If you or a loved one has been charged with improper passing of an ice cream truck and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Failure to Stop at a Flashing Red Light Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Failure to Stop at a Flashing Red Light Lawyer

NEW JERSEY FAILURE TO STOP AT FLASHING RED LIGHT LAWYER

In New Jersey, drivers must come to a complete stop at a flashing red light.  Failure to stop at a flashing red signal may result in a traffic ticket.   Those convicted of failing to stop at a flashing red light are subject to 2 motor vehicle points in addition to fines and court costs.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with a failure to stop at a flashing red light in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Failure to Stop at Flashing Red Light Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles failing to stop at a flashing red signal offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY FAILURE TO STOP AT FLASHING RED SIGNAL LAW

In New Jersey, the observation of flashing red signals is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4–119, which provides:

Traffic control signals and beacon or flashing signals when operating as flashing mechanisms shall conform to the following:

a. Flashing red: The red lens when illuminated with rapid intermittent flashes shall require drivers to come to a complete stop before entering or crossing the intersection. The driver shall proceed only after yielding the right of way to all traffic on the intersecting street, which traffic is so close as to constitute an immediate hazard.

b. Flashing amber: The amber lens when illuminated with rapid intermittent flashes shall indicate the presence of danger and require drivers to proceed only with caution.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with a failure to stop at a flashing red light in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for failing to stop at a flashing red signal.  If you or a loved one has been charged with failing to stop at a flashing red light and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Failure to Observe Traffic Signal Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Failure to Observe Traffic Signal Lawyer

NEW JERSEY FAILURE TO OBSERVE TRAFFIC SIGNAL LAWYER

In New Jersey, drivers are required to obey all traffic control devices.  Failure to observe a traffic signal may result in a traffic ticket.   Those convicted of failing to observe a traffic signal are subject to 2 motor vehicle points in addition to fines and court costs.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with a failure to observe traffic signals in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Failure to Observe Traffic Signal Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles failing to observe traffic signal offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY FAILURE TO OBSERVE TRAFFIC SIGNAL LAW

In New Jersey, the observation of traffic signals is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4–81, which provides:

a. The driver of every vehicle, the motorman of every street car and every pedestrian shall obey the instructions of any official traffic control device applicable thereto, placed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, unless otherwise directed by a traffic or police officer.

b. When, by reason of a power failure or other malfunction, a traffic control signal at an intersection is not illuminated, the driver of a vehicle or street car shall, with respect to that intersection, observe the requirement for a stop intersection, as provided in R.S.39:4-144.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with a failure to observe a traffic control device in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for failing to observe a traffic signal.  If you or a loved one has been charged with failing to observe a traffic signal and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Failure to Use Turn Signal Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Failure to Use Turn Signal Lawyer

NEW JERSEY FAILURE TO USE TURN SIGNAL LAWYER

In New Jersey, drivers are required to use turn signals prior to a left or right-hand turn.  Failure to use a turn signal may result in a traffic ticket.   Those convicted of failing to use a turn signal are subject to 2 motor vehicle points in addition to fines and court costs.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with a failure to signal offense in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Failure to Use Turn Signal Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles failing to signal offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY FAILURE TO USE TURN SIGNAL LAW

Signaling before starting, turning or stopping is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4–126, which provides:

No person shall turn a vehicle at an intersection unless the vehicle is in proper position upon the roadway as required in section 39:4-123, or turn a vehicle to enter a private road or driveway or otherwise turn a vehicle from a direct course or move right or left upon a roadway, or start or back a vehicle unless and until such movement can be made with safety. No person shall so turn any vehicle without giving an appropriate signal in the manner hereinafter provided in the event any other traffic may be affected by such movement.

A signal of intention to turn right or left when required shall be given continuously during not less than the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning.

No person shall stop or suddenly decrease the speed of a vehicle without first giving an appropriate signal in the manner provided herein to the driver of any vehicle immediately to the rear.

The signal herein required shall be given either by means of the hand and arm in the manner herein specified, or by an approved mechanical or electrical signal device, except that when a vehicle is so constructed or loaded as to prevent the hand and arm signal from being visible, both to front and rear, the signal shall be given by a device of a type which has been approved by the division.

When the signal is given by means of the hand and arm, the driver shall indicate his intention to stop or turn by extending the hand and arm from and beyond the left side of the vehicle in the following manner and such signals shall indicate as follows:

(a) Left turn.–Hand and arm extended horizontally.

(b) Right turn.–Hand and arm extended upward.

(c) Stop or decrease speed.–Hand and arm extended downward.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with a failure to use a turn signal in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for failing to signal.  If you or a loved one has been charged with failing to signal and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Improper Passing Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Improper Passing Lawyer

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER PASSING LAWYER

In regard to moving violations, improper passing infractions are some of the most serious.   Those convicted of improper passing on the right, off the roadway or in no passing zones are subject to 4 motor vehicle points in addition to hefty fines and court costs.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with an improper passing offense in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Improper Passing Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles improper passing offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER PASSING STATUTES

Improper passing on right or off roadway is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4–85, which provides:

The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction shall pass at a safe distance to the left thereof and shall not again drive to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the overtaken vehicle. If vehicles on the roadway are moving in two or more substantially continuous lines, the provisions of this paragraph and section 39:4-87 of this Title shall not be considered as prohibiting the vehicles in one line overtaking and passing the vehicles in another line either upon the right or left, nor shall those provisions be construed to prohibit drivers overtaking and passing upon the right another vehicle which is making or about to make a left turn.

The driver of an overtaking motor vehicle not within a business or residence district shall give audible warning with his horn or other warning device before passing or attempting to pass a vehicle proceeding in the same direction.

The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the right as provided in this section only under conditions permitting such movement in safety. In no event shall such movement be made by driving off the pavement or main-traveled portion of the roadway.

Improper passing in no passing zone is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-86, which provides:

The driver of a vehicle shall not drive to the left side of the center line of a highway in overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless the left side is clearly visible and free of oncoming traffic for a sufficient distance ahead to permit the overtaking and passing to be made in safety.

The driver of a vehicle shall not drive to the left of the center of a highway in order to overtake and pass another vehicle proceeding in the same direction upon the crest of a grade or upon a curve in the highway where the driver’s view along the highway is obstructed within a distance of five hundred feet.

Except when otherwise directed by a duly constituted traffic or police officer or when the lane in which he is operating is obstructed and impassable, the driver of a vehicle shall not cross an appropriately marked “No Passing” line in a “No Passing” zone duly established pursuant to a duly promulgated regulation of the State Highway Commissioner or an ordinance or resolution duly adopted by a municipal governing body or a board of chosen freeholders, whichever has jurisdiction over the highway.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with improper passing in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for improper passing.  If you or a loved one has been charged with passing improperly and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Improper Turn Lawyer (5 Star Clients Reviews)

New Jersey Improper Turn Lawyer

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER TURN LAWYER

Tickets for Improper right or left turns are routinely issued by police departments throughout New Jersey.   Those convicted of improper turns are subject to fines and court costs.  Additionally, there are three motor vehicle points assessed to those convicted of improper turns. Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with an improper turn in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Improper Turn Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles improper turn offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER RIGHT OR LEFT TURN STATUTE

The New Jersey Improper Right or Left Turn statute can be found under N.J.S.A. 39:4-123, which provides:

Except as otherwise provided in this article, the driver of a vehicle intending to turn at an intersection shall do so as follows:

(a) Right turns. Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

(b) Left turns on two-way roadways. At any intersection where traffic is permitted to move in both directions on each roadway entering the intersection, an approach for a left turn shall be made in that portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the center line thereof and by passing to the right of such center line where it enters the intersection and after entering the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection to the right of the center line of the roadway being entered. Whenever practicable the left turn shall be made in that portion of the intersection to the left of the center of the intersection.

(c) Left turns on other than two-way roadways. At any intersection where traffic is restricted to one direction on one or more of the roadways, the driver of a vehicle intending to turn left at any such intersection shall approach the intersection in the extreme left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in the direction of travel of such vehicle and after entering the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection, as nearly as practicable, in the left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in such direction upon the roadway being entered.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with turning improperly in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for improper turning.  If you or a loved one has been charged with turning improperly and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Speeding Ticket Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Speeding Ticket Lawyer

NEW JERSEY SPEEDING TICKET LAWYER

Speeding tickets are routinely issued by police departments throughout New Jersey.   Those convicted of speeding are generally subject to fines and motor vehicle points.  The number of motor vehicle points depends upon the speed over the limit.  Exceeding the maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit is 2 points.  Exceeding the maximum speed 15-29 mph over the limit is 4 points.   Exceeding maximum the speed 30 mph or more over limit is 5 points.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with speeding in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Speeding Ticket Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles speeding offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY SPEEDING TICKET STATUTE

Speeding, under N.J.S.A. 39:4-98, provides:

39:4-98. Rates of speed. Subject to the provisions of R.S.39:4-96 and R.S.39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:

a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;

b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;

    (2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;

c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c.415 (C.39:4-98.3 et al.).

Whenever it shall be determined upon the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation that any speed hereinbefore set forth is greater or less than is reasonable or safe under the conditions found to exist at any intersection or other place or upon any part of a highway, the Commissioner of Transportation, with reference to State highways, may by regulation and municipal or county authorities, with reference to highways under their jurisdiction, may by ordinance, in the case of municipal authorities, or by ordinance or resolution, in the case of county authorities, subject to the approval of the Commissioner of Transportation, except as otherwise provided in R.S.39:4-8, designate a reasonable and safe speed limit thereat which, subject to the provisions of R.S.39:4-96 and R.S.39:4-97, shall be prima facie lawful at all times or at such times as may be determined, when appropriate signs giving notice thereof are erected at such intersection, or other place or part of the highway. Appropriate signs giving notice of the speed limits authorized under the provisions of paragraph (1) of subsection b. and subsection c. of this section may be erected if the commissioner or the municipal or county authorities, as the case may be, so determine they are necessary. Appropriate signs giving notice of the speed limits authorized under the provisions of subsection a. and paragraph (2) of subsection b. of this section shall be erected by the commissioner or the municipal or county authorities, as appropriate.

When designating reasonable and safe speed limits for a street under its jurisdiction pursuant to this subsection, as part of an engineering and traffic investigation, a municipality or county shall consider, but not be limited to, the following criteria: residential density; the presence, or lack, of sidewalks; the prevalence of entry and exit ways for business and commercial establishments; whether school children walk adjacent to the street on their way to and from school; and the proximity of recreational or park areas, schools, community residences, family day care homes, child care centers, assisted living facilities or senior communities. Nothing in this paragraph shall substitute for traffic count, accident, and speed sampling data as appropriate.

The driver of every vehicle shall, consistent with the requirements of this section, drive at an appropriate reduced speed when approaching and crossing an intersection or railway grade crossing, when approaching and going around a curve, when approaching a hill crest, when traveling upon any narrow or winding roadway, and when special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic or by reason of weather or highway conditions.

The Commissioner of Transportation shall cause the erection and maintenance of signs at such points of entrance to the State as are deemed advisable, setting forth the lawful rates of speed, the wording of which shall be within his discretion.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with speeding in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for speeding.  If you or a loved one has been charged with speeding and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

Posted on

New Jersey Careless Driving Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Careless Driving Lawyer

NEW JERSEY CARELESS DRIVING LAWYER

A careless driving violation is one of the most common traffic infractions in New Jersey.  Careless driving tickets are routinely issued when there is a motor vehicle accident.  Those convicted of careless driving are generally subject to fines and 2 motor vehicle points.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with careless driving in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Careless Driving Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles careless driving offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY CARELESS DRIVING STATUTE

In New Jersey, the statute pertaining to careless driving is extremely broad.  Careless driving, under N.J.S.A. 39:4-97, provides:

A person who drives a vehicle carelessly, or without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of careless driving.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with careless driving in New Jersey.  It is important to protect your rights, especially if you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and received a traffic summons for careless driving.  If you or a loved one has been charged with careless driving and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation for all traffic offenses is always free.

Areas served:

….

Posted on

New Jersey Improper Passing of School Bus Lawyer (5 Star Client Reviews)

New Jersey Improper Passing of School Bus Lawyer NJ

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER PASSING OF SCHOOL BUS LAWYER

An Improper passing of school bus infraction is one of the most serious traffic violations in New Jersey.  Anyone who improperly passes a school bus can expect to be pulled over by the police and issued a ticket.   Those convicted for an improper passing of school bus offense are generally subject to fines and 5 motor vehicle points.  Therefore, it is important for anyone charged with the improper passing of a school bus in New Jersey to consult with a New Jersey Improper Passing of School Bus Lawyer.  The Sloan Law Firm handles improper passing of school bus offenses and all other traffic violations in New Jersey.  The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.

NEW JERSEY IMPROPER PASSING OF SCHOOL BUS STATUTE

N.J.S.A. 39:4-128.1 provides:

1. On highways having roadways not divided by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of a vehicle approaching or overtaking a bus, which is being used for the transportation of children to or from school or a summer day camp or any school connected activity, or which is being used for the transportation of a person who has a developmental disability, and which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any child or a person who has a developmental disability, shall stop such vehicle not less than 25 feet from such school bus and keep such vehicle stationary until such child or person who has a developmental disability has entered said bus or has alighted and reached the side of such highway and until a flashing red light is no longer exhibited by the bus; provided, such bus is designated as a school bus by one sign on the front and one sign on the rear, with each letter on such signs at least four inches in height.

On highways having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of a vehicle overtaking a school bus, which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any child or any person who has a developmental disability, shall stop such vehicle not less than 25 feet from such school bus and keep such vehicle stationary until such child or person who has a developmental disability has entered said bus or has alighted and reached the side of the highway and until a flashing red light is no longer exhibited by the bus.

On highways having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of a vehicle on another roadway approaching a school bus, which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any child, or any person who has a developmental disability shall reduce the speed of his vehicle to not more than 10 miles per hour and shall not resume normal speed until the vehicle has passed the bus and has passed any child who may have alighted therefrom or be about to enter said bus.

For purposes of this section, “highway” means the entire width between the boundary lines of every way whether publicly or privately maintained when any part thereof is open to the public for purposes of vehicular travel.

Whenever a school bus is parked at the curb for the purpose of receiving children directly from a school or a summer day camp or any school connected activity or discharging children to enter a school, or a summer day camp or any school connected activity, which is located on the same side of the street as that on which the bus is parked, drivers of vehicles shall be permitted to pass said bus without stopping, but at a speed not in excess of 10 miles per hour.

Whenever a school bus is parked at the curb for the purpose of receiving or discharging a person who has a developmental disability on the same side of the street as that on which the bus is parked, drivers of vehicles shall be permitted to pass the bus without stopping, but at a speed not in excess of 10 miles per hour.

The driver of a bus which is being used for the transportation of children to or from school or a summer day camp or any school connected activity, or for the transportation of a person who has a developmental disability shall continue to exhibit a flashing red light and shall not start his bus until every child who may have alighted therefrom shall have reached a place of safety.

Any person who shall violate any provision of this act shall be subject to (1) a fine of not less than $100.00, (2) imprisonment for not more than 15 days or community service for 15 days in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate, (3) or both for the first offense, and a fine not less than $250.00, imprisonment for not more than 15 days, or both for each subsequent offense. The penalties shall be enforced and recovered pursuant to the provisions of chapter 5 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes. There shall be a rebuttable presumption that the registered owner of the vehicle which was involved in the violation of this section was the person who committed the act. Any person who suppresses, by way of concealment or destruction, any evidence of a violation of this section or who suppresses the identity of the violator shall be subject to a fine of $100.

The Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission may also revoke the license to drive a motor vehicle of any person who shall have been guilty of such willful violation of any of the provisions of this act as shall, in the discretion of the chief administrator, justify such revocation, but the chief administrator shall, at all times, have power to validate such a license which has been revoked, or to grant a new license to any person whose license to drive a motor vehicle shall have been revoked pursuant to this act.

Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938

The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal defense to anyone charged with improperly passing a school bus in New Jersey.  If you or a loved one has been charged with an improper passing of school bus violation and would like to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to contact the Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938.  The initial consultation is always free.

Areas served: