DRUG CHARGE LAWYER MORRIS COUNTY NJ
Unfortunately, drug charges are not uncommon in Morris County, New Jersey as a result of people getting hooked on them. Drug charges can have a tremendous impact on the lives of those facing indictment. The penalties can include fines, probation, community service and jail. Common CDS charges in Morris County, NJ include unlawful possession of: Oxycodone, Oxycontin, Ritalin, Xanax, Marijuana, Cocaine, Ecstacy, LSD, PCP, Methadone, Heroin and Methamphetamines. Many times, those charged with drug possession are also charged with possession of drug paraphernalia. A drug paraphernalia offense is also a serious offense with penalties that may include: fines, probation, community service and jail. Drug charges arising out of Morris County are serious and, therefore, it is important for anyone charged with drug possession or drug paraphernalia to consult with a Morris County NJ Drug Charge Lawyer.
Drug Charge Lawyer Morris County, NJ – Call (908) 358-2938
The Sloan Law Firm handles drug cases in Morris County and throughout New Jersey. Attorney Daniel Sloan has years of experience handling drug charges Morris County and throughout New Jersey. There are several legal defenses available to those charged with a drug offense, such as: an improper search, a failure to obtain a warrant, the motor vehicle stop was unreasonable and more. The Sloan Law Firm will explore all of these defenses and more in order to obtain the best possible result for the client. In the event that the police did everything correctly, our firm will fight to enter the client into a diversionary program such as Pre-Trial Intervention (“PTI”), Conditional Discharge or Drug Court in order to avoid a criminal conviction. The Sloan Law Firm offers aggressive and experienced legal services to anyone charged with a drug offense in Morris County, New Jersey.
Free Consultations Available For Morris County Drug Charges – Call (908) 358-2938
Possession of CDS in Morris County, NJ
2C:35-10. Possession, Use or Being Under the Influence, or Failure to Make Lawful Disposition.
a. It is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by P.L.1970, c.226 (C.24:21-1 et seq.). Any person who violates this section with respect to:
- A controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in Schedule I, II, III or IV other than those specifically covered in this section, is guilty of a crime of the third degree except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to $35,000.00 may be imposed;
- Any controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in Schedule V, is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to $15,000.00 may be imposed;
- Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or more than five grams of hashish is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree, except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to $25,000.00 may be imposed; or
- Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or five grams or less of hashish is a disorderly persons offense.
Any person who commits any offense defined in this section while on any property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board, or within 1,000 feet of any such school property or a school bus, or while on any school bus, and who is not sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall, in addition to any other sentence which the court may impose, be required to perform not less than 100 hours of community service.
b. Any person who uses or who is under the influence of any controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, for a purpose other than the treatment of sickness or injury as lawfully prescribed or administered by a physician is a disorderly persons offense.
In a prosecution under this subsection, it shall not be necessary for the State to prove that the accused did use or was under the influence of any specific drug, but it shall be sufficient for a conviction under this subsection for the State to prove that the accused did use or was under the influence of some controlled dangerous substance, counterfeit controlled dangerous substance, or controlled substance analog, by proving that the accused did manifest physical and physiological symptoms or reactions caused by the use of any controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog.
c. Any person who knowingly obtains or possesses a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog in violation of subsection a. of this section and who fails to voluntarily deliver the substance to the nearest law enforcement officer is guilty of a disorderly persons offense. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to preclude a prosecution or conviction for any other offense defined in this title or any other statute.
Drug Paraphernalia in Morris County, NJ
2C:36-2. Use or possession with intent to use, disorderly persons offense.
It shall be unlawful for any person to use, or to possess with intent to use, drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled dangerous substance, controlled substance analog or toxic chemical in violation of the provisions of chapter 35 of this title. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a disorderly persons offense.
Morris County Drug Charge Lawyer – Free Consultations Available
If you or a loved one has been charged in Morris County with drug paraphernalia or a drug possession offense such as oxycodone, oxycontin, Ritalin, Xanax, marijuana, cocaine, ecstasy, LSD, PCP, methadone, heroin and amphetamines, the Sloan Law Firm may be able to assist you. For a free consultation, please do not contact the firm at: (908) 358-2938.
Penalties for Drug Possession in Morris County, NJ
Possession of Marijuana/Drug Paraphernalia
- Jail/Prison for 18 Months
- Fines ranging from $500-$15,000
- Potential Loss of Driver’s License
- Community Service
Possession of Narcotics or Controlled Substances (oxycodone, oxycontin, Ritalin, Xanax, marijuana, cocaine, ecstasy, LSD, PCP, methadone, heroin and amphetamines)
- Jail/Prison for 3-5 years
- Fines ranging from $1,000-$25,000
- Potential Loss of Driver’s License
- Community Service
- East Hanover
- Florham Park
- Long Hill
- Morris Plains
- Morris Township
- Victory Gardens
Submit your review
I received a ticket for an illegal left. I left Court with no points on my license and a small fine thanks to Dan Sloan. Dan kept me informed the entire time and supported me even with this minor incident. I have recommended Dan to friends and family who have also had successful outcomes with Dan by their side.
I received a moving violation, and was very nervous to go to court and face the penalties. Dan assured me not worry- his confidence and well-rounded knowledge of the law are why I walked out of the court very happy. I highly recommend Dan Sloan and will only call him for any other issue I should face.