DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE LAWYER UNION COUNTY, NJ
In Union County and throughout New Jersey, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle without insurance. A conviction for driving without insurance can result in heavy fines, community service and even jail. It is one of the more severe traffic offenses. Therefore, it is important for any charged with driving without insurance or failure to provide proof of insurance in Union County, New Jersey to consult with a Union County NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer. The Sloan Law Firm handles driving without insurance offenses in Union County and throughout New Jersey. The firm offers free initial consultations on all traffic offense cases.
DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE IN UNION COUNTY, NJ LAW
N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 provides:
Any owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in this State without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act, and any operator who operates or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act shall be subject, for the first offense, to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court, and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of conviction. Upon subsequent conviction, he shall be subject to a fine of up to $5,000 and shall be subject to imprisonment for a term of 14 days and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from the date of his conviction, and, after the expiration of said period, he may make application to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the director. The director’s discretion shall be based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without the insurance coverage required by this act. A complaint for violation of this act may be made to a municipal court at any time within six months after the date of the alleged offense.
Failure to produce at the time of trial an insurance identification card or an insurance policy which was in force for the time of operation for which the offense is charged creates a rebuttable presumption that the person was uninsured when charged with a violation of this section.
FAILURE TO PROVIDE INSURANCE CARD LAW IN UNION COUNTY, NJ
N.J.S.A. 39:3-29 states:
The driver or operator shall exhibit his driver’s license and an insurance identification card, and the holder of a registration certificate or the operator or driver of a motor vehicle for which a registration certificate has been issued, whether or not the holder, driver or operator is a resident of this State, shall also exhibit the registration certificate, when requested so to do by a police officer or judge, while in the performance of the duties of his office, and shall write his name in the presence of the officer, so that the officer may thereby determine the identity of the licensee and at the same time determine the correctness of the registration certificate, as it relates to the registration number and number plates of the motor vehicle for which it was issued; and the correctness of the evidence of a policy of insurance, as it relates to the coverage of the motor vehicle for which it was issued.
Any person violating this section shall be subject to a fine of $150, except that if the person is a driver or operator of an omnibus, as defined pursuant to R.S.39:1-1, the amount of the fine shall be $250. Of the amount of any such fine collected pursuant to this paragraph, $25 shall be deposited in the Uninsured Motorist Prevention Fund established by section 2 of P.L.1983, c.141 (C.39:6B-3).
If a person charged with a violation of this section can exhibit his driver’s license, insurance identification card and registration certificate, which were valid on the day he was charged, to the judge of the municipal court before whom he is summoned to answer to the charge, such judge may dismiss the charge. However, the judge may impose court costs.
In addition to and independent of any fine or other penalty provided for under law, the court shall impose a fine of $150 on any driver or operator of an omnibus, convicted of a violation of this section, who does not have a certificate of public convenience and necessity as required pursuant to R.S.48:4-3. The State Treasurer shall annually deposit the monies collected from the fines imposed pursuant to this paragraph to the “Omnibus Safety Enforcement Fund” established pursuant to section 4 of P.L.2007, c.40 (C.39:3-79.23). The fine described herein shall not be deemed a fine, penalty, or forfeiture pursuant to R.S.39:5-41.
Free Consultations Available – (908) 358-2938
The Sloan Law Firm provides aggressive and experienced legal to defense to anyone charged with driving without insurance in Union County and throughout New Jersey. If you or a loved one have been charged with driving without insurance and would like to discuss the charge with a Union County NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer, please do not hesitate to contact The Sloan Law Firm at: (908) 358-2938. The initial consultation is always free.
- Union County
- Somerset County
- Essex County
- Morris County
- Middlesex County
- Hunterdon County
- Monmouth County
- Passaic County
Submit your review
I received a ticket for an illegal left. I left Court with no points on my license and a small fine thanks to Dan Sloan. Dan kept me informed the entire time and supported me even with this minor incident. I have recommended Dan to friends and family who have also had successful outcomes with Dan by their side.
I received a moving violation, and was very nervous to go to court and face the penalties. Dan assured me not worry- his confidence and well-rounded knowledge of the law are why I walked out of the court very happy. I highly recommend Dan Sloan and will only call him for any other issue I should face.